## Proceedings of the 13th International Conference on Retinal Proteins held in Barcelona (Spain) on 15–19 June 2008

This volume contains the Proceedings of the 13th International Conference on Retinal Proteins. This conference series began in Munich, Germany organized by D. Oesterhelt in 1982 and since then has been held every two years at different venues around the world. Following Munich the Conference was held in Lake Baikal (Russia) in 1986, Kyoto (Japan) in 1988, Santa Cruz (USA) in 1990, Dourdan (France) in 1992, Leyden (The Netherlands) in 1994, Zichrin Yaacov (Israel) in 1996, Awaji Island (Japan) in 1998, Szeged (Hungary) in 2000, Seattle (USA) in 2002, Frauenchiemsee (Germany) in 2004 and Awaji Island (Japan) in 2006. During this time the area of retinal proteins has continued to develop and to expand with changes seen in methodology and new retinal systems. The local committee organized, with the help of the International Advisory Committee, a program which we hope reflected the breadth and current status of the field. The 42 lectures were arranged around the following topics: Structure and function of GPCR; Bacteriorhodopsin photocycle and transport; Retinal and water in bacteriorhodopsin; Rhodopsin structure and function; Xanthorhodopsin; Rhodopsins and visual cycle; Activation of rhodopsins; Advances in microbial rhodopsins; Structures, stability and folding of retinal proteins; Photosensor proteins. A total of 90 posters were presented; from them, 13 posters were selected for short oral talks as a means to promote discussions.

As one of the benefits of the Conference, fruitful contacts and deep friendships have been made between the research groups that will boost future research. We want to thank the speakers and poster authors for the high quality of their works and all participants for actively contributing to the conference. Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to thank all authors for their valuable contribution to make these proceedings a comprehensive reflection of the Conference.

Esteve Padrós Chair of the Organizing Committee